Commissioned 20 January 1919, USS BUCHANAN (DD-131) the first ship named in Honor of Franklin Buchanan, a Captain in the United States Navy and an Admiral in the Confederate States Navy. BUCHANAN served the Atlantic Fleet until September 1940 when she was decommissioned and transferred as one of fifty destroyers exchanged for bases to the British Government. BUCHANAN was commissioned HMS CAMPBELTOWN (I-42) on Sept 9, 1940. Her end came as a fitting conclusion to her fine career, for she acted as a block ship she rammed the Normandie Lock entrance at St.-Nazaire, France, during the raid of 28 March 1942. Early that morning, under heavy enemy fire, she was driven straight at her objective. Her small group of commando troops dashed ashore and commenced work. Eleven hours later, her five tons of delayed action high explosives blew up, destroying an essential submarine dry dock and only dry dock on the Atlantic coast capable of accepting the German battleship TIRPITZ plus inflicting heavy personnel casualties.


Aerial photograph of Balboa harbor, Panama Canal Zone, on 23 April 1934, with U.S. Fleet cruisers and destroyers moored together.
Ships present include (left to right in lower left): USS Elliot (DD-146); USS Roper (DD-147); USS Hale (DD-133); USS Dorsey (DD-117); USS Lea (DD-118); USS Rathburne (DD-113); USS Talbot (DD-114); USS Waters (DD-115); USS Dent (DD-116); USS Aaron Ward (DD-132); USS Buchanan (DD-131); USS Crowninshield (DD-134); USS Preble (DD-345); and USS William B. Preston (DD-344). (left to right in center): USS Yarnall (DD-143); USS Sands (DD-243); USS Lawrence (DD-250); (unidentified destroyer); USS Detroit (CL-8), Flagship, Destroyers Battle Force; USS Fox (DD-234); USS Greer (DD-145); USS Barney (DD-149); USS Tarbell (DD-142); and USS Chicago (CA-29), Flagship, Cruisers Scouting Force. (left to right across the top): USS Southard (DD-207); USS Chandler (DD-206); USS Farenholt (DD-332); USS Perry (DD-340); USS Wasmuth (DD-338); USS Trever (DD-339); the destroyer tender USS Melville (AD-2); USS Truxtun (DD-229); USS McCormick (DD-223); USS MacLeish (DD-220); USS Simpson (DD-221); USS Hovey (DD-208); USS Long (DD-209); USS Litchfield (DD-336); USS Tracy (DD-214); USS Dahlgren (DD-187); the repair ship USS Medusa (AR-1); USS Raleigh (CL-7), Flagship, Destroyers Scouting Force; USS Pruitt (DD-347); and USS J. Fred Talbott (DD-156); USS Dallas (DD-199); (four unidentified destroy



Back to Buchanan Home Page